

President/Board of Governors

Mission: To transform hopes and dreams into lifelong success.

Vision: To be a global leader in personalized, digitally connected, experiential learning.

Values: Caring, Integrity, Learning, Respect

APPROVED

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING MINUTES

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF ALGONQUIN COLLEGE, HELD ON MONDAY, JUNE 6, 2022 AT 6:10 PM, BY ZOOM VIDEO/TELECONFERENCE CALL.

Present:

Jay McLaren, Board Chair Claude Brulé, President & CEO Gail Beck, Board Vice Chair Audrey Claire Lawrence

Cyan Shields Cyril McKelvie Jamie McCracken

Jeff Darwin Laura Jarrell Rodney Wilson Sheilagh Dunn Stephen Tudor Steve Barkhouse

Valerie Sayah

Regrets:

Gabrielle Berard Ikram Zouari

Algonquin College Executive Team:

Chris Janzen, Senior Vice President, Academic
Diane McCutcheon, Vice President, Human Resources
Duane McNair, Vice President, Finance & Administration
Laura Stanbra, Vice President, Student Services
Mark Savenkoff, Vice President, Advancement
Tracy McDougall, Director, Communications &
President's Office

Regrets:

Ron Deganadus McLester, Vice President, Truth, Reconciliation and Indigenization

Recorder:

Victoria Tiqui-Sanford, Board Assistant

1. CONSTITUTION OF THE MEETING & APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Governor McLaren, Board Chair constituted the meeting at 6:10 p.m. and asked whether any Governors wished to remove or add an item to the agenda. No item was removed or added.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: J. McCracken & A. Lawrence

THAT the Board of Governors approves the Annual General Meeting agenda of June 6, 2022. **CARRIED.**

2. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

Governor McLaren asked members to declare any conflicts of interest with items on the agenda. There was no conflict of interest declared.

3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Board of Governors meeting of June 7, 2021
Approval of the Board of Governors Meeting minutes of June 7, 2021.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Barkhouse & G. Beck

THAT the Board of Governors approves the meeting minutes of June 7, 2021. **CARRIED.**

4. 2020-21 Draft Audited Financial Statements

Members were referred to the recommendations for the 2021-22 Draft Audited Financial Statements for approvals.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: J. McCracken & S. Dunn

 a. THAT the Board of Governors approves the 2021-22 Draft Audited Financial Statements of Algonquin College (Appendix A: 2021-22 Draft Audited Financial Statements – Algonquin College),

AND

b. **THAT** the Board of Governors approves the transfer of \$10,097,662 from internally restricted net assets to unrestricted net assets,

AND

c. **THAT** the Board of Governors accepts for information, the 2021-22 Audited Financial Statements for 2364193 Ontario Inc. (Appendix B: 2021-22 Audited Financial Statements – 2364193 Ontario Inc.).

Carried.

5. 2022-23 Board of Governors Officers and Committee Membership Appointments

Governor McCracken, Chair, Governance Committee referred members to the 2022-23 Board of Governors Officers and Committee Membership Appointments.

The Governance Committee is pleased to present the 2022-23 Officers of the Board, Board Committee Chairs, Committee Vice Chair and Committee Memberships appointments:

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE	
Board Chair	Gail Beck
Board Vice Chair	Jamie McCracken
President & CEO	Claude Brulé
Chair, Governance Committee	Steve Barkhouse
Chair, Academic & Student Affairs Committee	Rodney Wilson
Chair, Audit & Risk Management Committee	Ikram Zouari
GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE	
Committee Chair	Steve Barkhouse
Committee Vice Chair	Stephen Tudor
Board Chair	Gail Beck
President & CEO	Claude Brulé
Student Governor	Cyan Shields
External Governor	*Sheilagh Dunn
External Governor	Tony Pollard
Internal Governor - Administrative Staff Representative	Laura Jarrell
Internal Governor - Support Staff Representative	Valerie Sayah

ACADEMIC & STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE	
Committee Chair	Rodney Wilson
Committee Vice Chair	Cyril McKelvie
Board Chair	Gail Beck
President & CEO	Claude Brulé
External Governor	Audrey Lawrence
Student Governor	Cyan Shields
External Governor	Gabrielle Berard
Internal Governor - Academic Staff Representative	Rebecca Wakelin
External Governor	*Sheilagh Dunn
Internal Resource, SVP Academic	Christopher Janzen
Internal Resource, VP Student Services	Laura Stanbra
Internal Resource, VP Truth, Reconciliation, & Indigenization	Ron McLester
AUDIT & RISK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE	
Committee Chair	Ikram Zouari
Committee Vice Chair	Stephen Tudor
Board Chair	Gail Beck
President & CEO	Claude Brulé
External Governor	Cyril McKelvie
External Governor	Jamie McCracken
External Governor	Jeff Darwin
External Governor	Rodney Wilson
Internal Resource, VP Finance & Administration	Duane McNair
Internal Resource, CFO, Finance & Administration	Grant Perry

^{*}LGIC Reappointment pending

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: J. McCracken & S. Tudor

THAT the Board of Governors approves of the appointments of Officers of the Board and memberships on Board Committees with terms beginning September 1, 2022 to August 31, 2023. **CARRIED.**

6. Appointment of the Auditors for 2022-23

Governor Tudor referred members to the Appointment of the Auditors for 2022-23. The report requested for approval for the appointment of the auditors for 2022-23

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Tudor & G. Beck

THAT the Board of Governors approves the appointment of BDO Canada LLP as the external auditors of Algonquin College and its controlled entities for the 2022-23 fiscal year. **CARRIED.**

7. Banking Officers Resolution

D. McNair referred members to the Banking Officers Resolution. Each year, the College presents to the Board of Governors an updated list of the banking officers of the College. Once approved, the resolution is supplied to the College's financial institutions as validation of those individuals with signing authority for banking purposes at Algonquin College.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: G. Beck & A. Lawrence

THAT the Board of Governors approves the Banking Officers Resolution effective September 1, 2022.

CARRIED.

8. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Annual General Meeting was adjourned at 6:19 pm. and moved and seconded Governors McLaren and Beck.

Gail Beck, Board Chair

Victoria Tiqui-Sanford, Recorder